Vers les pays frontaliers / Towards the frontier countries

Departure from Astrakhan :

To go to Kazakhstan:

Obligatory visa: consulate of Kazakhstan in Astrakhan:

Flight for Aktau-Astana, road Astrakhan Atyrau (Zhanaul check point) (6h), train Astrakhan Atyrau (17h)

To go to Azerbaijan:

Obligatory visa: embassy of Azerbaijan in Moscow (no consulate in Astrakhan):

strongly disadvised Road (crossed of Daghestan), flight Astrakhan Bakou (stopover in Moscow), train Astrakhan Bakou (22h)

To go to Iran:

Obligatory visa: consulate of Iran in Astrakhan:

Flight for Teheran (10h, stopover in Moscow), strongly disadvised road (crossed of Daghestan), bus, ferry and train by the Black Sea -Trabzon-Van Sea (Turkey) (3 days)

To go to Turkmenistan:

Obligatory visa: consulate of Turkmenistan in Astrakhan:

Flight Astrakhan Achgabat (Stopover in Moscow or Istanbul), no ferry.


For a more complete vision of the interstate transport:



Au départ d'Astrakhan :

Pour aller au Kazakhstan :

Visa obligatoire:  consulat du Kazakhstan à Astrakhan :

Vol pour Aktau-Astana, route Astrakhan Atyrau (poste frontière de Zhanaul)(6heures), train Astrakhan Atyrau (17h)


Road Astrakhan (RU) - Atyrau (KZ)

Pour aller en Azerbaidjan :

Visa obligatoire : ambassade d'Azerbaidjan à Moscou (pas de consulat à Astrakhan) :

Route fortement déconseillée (traversée du Daghestan), vol Astrakhan Bakou (escale à Moscou),train Astrakhan Bakou (22h)

Pour aller en Iran :

Visa obligatoire : consulat d'Iran à Astrakhan :

Vol pour Téhéran (10h, escale à Moscou), route fortement déconseillée (traversée du Daghestan), bus, ferry et train par la Mer Noire-Trabzon-Van (Turquie)(3 jours).

Pour aller au Turkmenistan :

Visa obligatoire : consulat du Turkmenistan à Astrakhan :

Vol Astrakhan Achgabat (Escale à Moscou ou Istanbul), pas de ferry.


Pour une vision plus complète des transports frontaliers :